h1

The Windows of Perception

July 17, 2009

The Windows Of Perception

One of the key skills in the world of the paranormal is learning to see things for what they are, not what they appear to be.  I used to think that this was an inborn ability, and one more common to the Celtic peoples of the world (those descended from Ireland, Scotland, Wales, Mann, Brittany, etc.)  I’m not so sure about that anymore.  I’ve encountered people from many different ethnic backgrounds who have had the windows of their perception opened.

First, a little more about myself, and my relevance to this subject.  I’ve always been able to see the invisible, glimpses of the world behind the world.  I would not say my skill in this is anything more than moderate, but I have no real way to gauge that.  In recent years, I’ve taken to drawing people I know, but not as they physically appear, but as they resolve into symbols and extreme imagery.  I’m a comic artist, and that means I can draw anything, so taking these perceptions and putting them down of paper is not a challenge for me.  Soon, when I get the gumption to scan these arcane portraits, I’ll show them off here.

These visions of the other world usually come unbidden and are fleeting.  Sometimes, when you are in the right frame of reference, you can take longer, harder looks behind the veil.  It has long been my contention that we can easily access the paranormal, that it’s all around us all the time, and that even many of the things that seem mundane are magic forces in action for those who can recognize them for what they are.

I believe it’s worthwhile to say a few words about achieving the right frame of mind.  I’ve practiced meditation since I was a teenager, and I’ve discovered in my 40’s that I can often reach a profound state of   “no mind.”  That is the one of the primary points of meditation, to clear the clutter and competing voices of the mind and find inner silence.  Then, when everything is quiet, and there are no distractions, you can produce powerful feats of will, projecting your thoughts out across the aether and the universe.  (I’ll cover this in much greater detail in the future.)

I am not trying to sound New Agey when I make these claims.  Unfortunately, many of the primary sources have already influenced the New Age movement, and thus it shares much of the same language.  It is also useful for you to remember that achieving a state of no mind, or Zen, is essentially the same as prayer, or religious ceremonies, or magic, or whirling dervishes spinning themselves into alternate states of consciousness, etc. etc.  Henceforth, I shall refer to all such states as Alternate States of Consciousness, or ASC’s.

In my teens and twenties, I had a powerfully effective technique for self-hypnosis.  As the years wore on, traditional self-hypnosis became less and less effective for me.  Now, it works not at all.  I don’t know why this is the case, but it is.  I also have no access to hallucinogens, legal or illegal, so that’s off the table too.  This doesn’t mean that I have no access to ASC’s, though.  Indeed, there is always meditation, but perhaps my most powerful access point is music.

Songs are powerful gateway drugs, really.  When I abandon my mind to the music, I am suddenly energized, ideas start flying at me from all directions, and I receive powerful inspirations.  Not every song or artist will do this for me, you understand.  It’s got to be music I really love, and music that I’m very familiar with.  I’ve even gone so far as to have music change my perception of my surrounding, making everything seem hyper real and paper thin at the same time, making my every thought and observation seem rich and resonant.  It is an exhilarating state, and I’ve done most of my best artwork in this frame of mind.

There may be other such trigger mechanisms, one’s I’ve never considered.  I’m sure it’s different for every person.  The actual nature of the ASC is the same across the board, and it’s one of our most powerful tools in contacting the “other.”  So, while I have no intention of putting on hot clothes and spinning in the sun until I see visions and am granted wisdom, I’ll certainly be happy to put my favorite CDs on and rock out to the cosmos.

Scott.

One comment

  1. I believe music to be the perfect seque into achieving that state of mind necessary to perform any sort of mental exercise, be it meditation, healing or even using our creativity and imaginations.

    I’ll listen to ‘soundtracks’ on a loop for hours, getting myself into the right frame of mind for various projects, to get beyond the muddle-brained day to day stuff, to tap into that place far below the surface. I look forward to seeing what else you’ll be posting in future!



Leave a Reply

