h1

Meet Jim Cobb

April 9, 2009

Greetings, True Believers!

Ok, so I’m not Stan Lee. But, when I was a kid and I heard or read those words from Stan the Man, I knew I was in for a good time. There were bound to be heroes and monsters involved and that was ok by me.

Growing up, I spent an inordinate amount of time with my nose in a book. Not just comic books either but pretty much everything I could get my hands on.

I thrilled to the exploits of my beloved X-Men.

I longed to help Will and Beanpole defeat the evil Tripods and their alien Masters.

Yes, I even wanted to raft down the Mississippi River with Huck Finn, as cliché as that might be.

I loved reading about monsters above all else.

How cool would it be, I thought, to see a real werewolf?

Then, I found out that there were indeed real monsters. I’m not speaking of the human variety, that came later. I’m talking about Bigfoot, Champ, chupacabras, and other cryptids.

Suddenly, instead of just tromping around the woods playing army, I was constantly on the lookout for overly large footprints.

I’ve always been the type of person who, when something peaks my interest, I research it as much as possible. That’s probably what led me to my chosen career field of private investigation.

Yes, I am indeed a licensed PI.

No, you may not call me Magnum. Nor do I drive a Ferrari, but I do own both a fedora and trenchcoat.

But, I digress.

Anyway, I’ve spent many years reading and researching cryptids and what not. I don’t have quite the field experience our host Bob has, but that’s ok, I think. I’ll get there. In the meantime, I hope to share with you here my own thoughts and theories about the various creatures that go bump in the night. Or howl at the moon, as the case may be.

While I’ve dabbled in most areas of the paranormal world, my chosen area of interest is cryptozoology, with minors in UFOs, conspiracy theories, and hidden history.

As of late, I’ve been doing a fair amount of research into underground civilizations as well as the various legends of Atlantis.

In addition to my work as a PI, I’m also a budding freelance writer.

Many subjects of my research have naturally found their way into my writing. Someday perhaps I’ll even script my own comic book where Bigfoot meets a chupacabra and they team up to take on the evil aliens from Alpha Centauri.

Hey, stranger things have happened, right?

Excelsior!

(Y’know, it wasn’t until very recently that I found Stan Lee and I share the same birthday, just separated by several decades. I wonder if there just might be something to astrology….)

~Jim Cobb
writing from the Wilds of Wisconsin

Coming Soon: Jim’s interview with noted Bray Road Beast and Lycanthrope Investigator Linda Godfrey.

2 comments

  1. My name is Bob Schmalzbach and I distribute a MagEzine called “Foot Prints in Your Mind”. It is an eclectic collection of stories and articles written and contributed by the readers, concerning all types of “fringe sciences”. I always give full credit to all of the contributors and if they have a website, I always include a link to their site. Many authors use it to drive traffic to their own sites.

    If you can give me an email address, I will send you a copy.

    I am interested in publishing some of your articles in this format, but of course, I will not do that unless you give me permission. I am confident that it will help draw people to your site. I do not charge any money for my periodical
    nor do I share any information I receive through it with any other organizations or people. I do a direct emailing, and only to people who request it.

    I began with 18 people two months ago, and now I am at a little over 500. It is well received and a fun thing.

    Please share your thoughts with me at: JavaBob@inbox.com and if you would like a copy to see what I am talking about, return an email address to me and I will forward it on.

    Thank you and I hope to hear from you soon.



Leave a Reply

